top of page
  • Writer's pictureMorgan Vizecky

Starting My Own Business-By Accident

I have just started to come to terms with the fact that I am 17-and I am starting my own business. At first that really isn't what I was going for, and I still don't know that its really what I want, but it seems that was what was meant to happen.

I've known for a long time that I never do anything half way. However, I did think that since my goal was just selling as a hobby so I was getting some return and could actually continue making art that I could just do that little bit-and do that little bit well. I am primarily a student and will soon be starting college. I didn't plan on being a small business owner- just an artist who sold her art on the side. Then, I started spending more and more time on this website and on my other social media platform. I wasn't even really thinking about what I was doing until I was done doing it. I had built the social media network for a business-not just a hobby. Unbeknownst to me I had started to think of this venture as a business-so now it seems to be becoming one.

I guess I wanted The Wacke Raven to mean something. I have been spending large amounts of my time with a group of "zoxers" online. I'm not really going to go into explaining them at this time-but suffice to say they are a group of wonderful kindhearted people. They are the sort of people our society desperately needs. They are also the people we rarely find in our society. Spending time in that community brought me genuine happiness. People in this group extend small gestures of kindness and I means so much.

There is a prominent artist in this group named Zoey West (Smiling Fox Studios). Though there are many others, her work shows up the most. Her art and the art of many others inspires others to be their best selves. I always want to be my best self. Just as I want that for everyone else. One of the reasons I want to share my art with others is the hope that I can change other's minds for the better.

Instinctively, I seem to have weaved a web to reach the most people possible (without breaking the bank). I did not set up a hobby as I intended, I set up a full scale start-up business. At this point it all could still flop. I could sell absolutely nothing. But I have hope. And I have pride in what I have done. Hopefully it will last. Hopefully I can make an impact.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page